A required Art Book for a Canadian College

Thoughts? Would you drop the class or add it next semester?

http://www.tecca.com/news/2012/09/18/ocad-university-art-textbook-copyright/

26 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by elusivejeffa on September 19, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    What happened to power point presentations? They’re free.

    Reply

  2. Posted by will3974 on September 19, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    I think that I would probably add that to my classes for next semester, especially if I have already spent money on my other books.

    Reply

  3. It implies that there doesn’t need to be a formal structure for art. I’m on the fence about whether or not I like it. Leaning towards liking it.. ha

    Reply

  4. Posted by ecrementclaire on September 19, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    I actually think that it is interesting. I would probably add the class because like you said, seeing the blank piece of paper makes me excited and makes me want to start drawing.

    Reply

  5. Posted by garbersm on September 19, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    good statement but ill keep my $180

    Reply

  6. Posted by brodygreer on September 19, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    I would probably drop the class. Its a cool point they are trying to make but for $180…come on.

    Reply

  7. Posted by caitlinvfine on September 19, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    I would not drop the class for sure, if anything I would sign up for the class next semester! This is a very creative way to show, art students, that it is not about what kind of art people have done in the past, it is all about what you create on the blank pages!

    Reply

  8. I dont necessarily agree with this. Although it is bold to place such a value on student creativity, but how could there be any value without any content? Artwork on college rule paper could be just as valuable as any in a sketchbook.

    Reply

  9. Posted by crystalmanthe on September 19, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    I wouldn’t drop it just because I’m too stubborn to drop a class, and the pictures from the text are available online, but if I was to drop it, I’d pick it back up when they have sorted out the copyright issues and actually print the book with the pictures.

    Reply

  10. Posted by fordmeghan on September 19, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    Maybe if I had alot of financial aid that would pay for the book I would love to take this class. I think it would be a great class to explore conceptual art.

    Reply

  11. Posted by hargroveangela on September 19, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    I believe having text without pictures spark the imagination and encourage originality. At the same time, I’m a visual person and enjoy seeing what others have done and build on it. In any event I welcome a challenge/change. I would more than likely stay in the class : )

    Reply

  12. I think the abstract thought of what they wanted to achieve is interesting but I think they could communicate the same idea in a less expensive way.The concept that you couldn’t buy an used book makes it with a different value by itself.

    Reply

  13. I would drop the class. There are better ways to spend $180.

    Reply

  14. Posted by latiflora on September 19, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    I would most likely drop the class. If I am going to learn about a piece of art or a movement, I need to be able to see the visual to understand what it is.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Nihilos13 on September 19, 2012 at 3:55 pm

    Definitely drop, seeing as this is technically and really even shouldn’t be classified as a tool, unless you really really enjoy random scribble time, I would not advise paying $180 dollars for a blank paged book.

    Reply

  16. I actually think that it is interesting and good statement but ill keep my $180

    Reply

  17. I would drop the class I could spend $180 on something else.

    Reply

  18. Posted by tenglish0810 on September 19, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    I couldn’t say if I would drop or keep the class. I would have to get more background on the class, and just by the looks of it, it seems that the class would be interesting. So, maybe I would be curious enough to keep it.

    Reply

  19. Posted by littletw on September 19, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    I already pay $20 for my really nice sketchbooks, I don’t need a $180 one.

    Reply

  20. Posted by keaunat on September 19, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    I will drop the class, it’s an interesting book once you look at it in a different way than how it appears. And I also wouldn’t spend $180 on this book.

    Reply

  21. Posted by meganlavonn on September 19, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    It depends on the class. if there was another one i could take instead i would def. take another instead. If i had no other options… i would stick with it.

    Reply

  22. Posted by scottmoon420 on September 19, 2012 at 4:10 pm

    i most likely would not take the class its a great and cool idea but i mean for real 180$

    Reply

  23. Posted by ethancarroll1994 on September 19, 2012 at 4:10 pm

    That is a ludicrous requirement. I would not be taking the course. Art History is hard enough with the book(that has text and pictures); so this one, with nothing in it…..makes no sense to have it or take the course.

    Reply

  24. Posted by duncanl3 on September 19, 2012 at 4:10 pm

    i would probably drop it. i have to visualize everything and a blank book would not help. at all.

    Reply

  25. Posted by k8sortet on September 19, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    i would drop it because although it does inspire everyone to think of their own examples and ideas it does not give the student the opportunity to see art works directly with the explanation and description and not giving that does not seem like it is worth that amount of money

    Reply

  26. Posted by ajbrantley on September 19, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    i would not take that class especial if i have to pay 180 for a book with nothing in it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

